Caloden


What I want
May 10, 2006, 1:32 am
Filed under: Uncategorized

A dear friend of mine suggested I write a list of the things I really and truly want from life. I am not so great with lists, so in an effort to commit to one I am going to do it here. It's not always easy to actually pipe up and say, "This is what I want, dammit." But here goes:

  • A home where my kids can be themselves without criticism. Sometimes kids go through weird and annoying stages. To allow them to grow through these without hurting their feelings or making them uncomfortable in their own skin would be a gift to them.
  • A place where it is acceptable to display emotions.
  • Conversation. About anything.
  • Empathy.
  • Friends at the dinner table. Social contact.
  • A decent monthly budget.
  • Security -be it financial, emotional.
  • Support -again, applicable to all aspects of functioning.
  • Collaboration on home projects. Painting the walls, planting summer flowers.
  • Stuff for me. Selfish, pehaps. but I want to go shopping for me sometimes. I want to go away for the weekend without the kids. A dinner out or a movie would be nice.
  • I want my daughter to be respectful of me.
  • I want my older two kids to love each other like they did when they were younger.
  • I want my car back.
  • I want a home with a yard, in my dreams I want one of these.

I might expand on this list, but this where it begins.

4 Comments so far
Leave a comment

Oh…. I loved those houses! I actually sighed out loud when I clicked on the link.

Great list. I think in my case I would add, I want my kids to feel at home wherever we happen to be living.

Comment by L.

I love that house too. And I love the list– even though it made me want to weep.

And you will get it. I love you.

Comment by jen

Not to add to a mother’s duties but I am thinking that you have to now put the list into need most to need least because…….I have every confidence that you will recieve respect from your daughter BUT it will be after she turns 27. At least, that is the secret hope hidden in my heart for my family.

Why is Jen the only person that doesn’t cry, she weeps?

Comment by kim

i didn’t know i wanted one of those houses until you just showed it to me. totally gasp-worthy. i would also like to poach your list (minus like 2 things). it’s a good list. a very good list. i wish you a beautiful weekend.

Comment by bitemycookie




Leave a Reply

