Caloden


Highlight of the Day
April 7, 2006, 4:59 am
Filed under: Uncategorized

We live in a fairly small town. When stopping in the post office or grocery shopping it is likely that I will catch up on gossip and spread a bit of my own if I feel so inclined. With Loren entering teenhood, Cassidy growing like a weed and Devon consuming a huge tub of yogurt a day, I am usually a daily shopper. This means the cashiers know me, know what and how I buy, know my kids etc. Tonight when I had to run out for more juice bars -sore throat soothers- one of my favorite cashiers walked up to me and said in her gravelly smoker's voice, "Hon, you look like hell warmed over. Are the kids all right? Where are they? What's up?" I proceeded to tell her about the RSV, the pneumonia, the ear infections. Most people recoil from me when I tell this tale and warn me to step back a few steps, lest I contaminate them and all their kin. Instead, bless her soul, she threw her meaty arms around me and gave me a big, long hug. I almost burst into tears right there in the produce section.

1 Comment so far
Leave a comment

Oh, honey. That just about made ME cry too.

Comment by inkstains




Leave a Reply

