Caloden


Descriptives
March 15, 2006, 5:56 am
Filed under: Uncategorized

There are no words to properly describe my current hell. It began two nights ago at 12:30 a.m. when Devon began screaming from his crib. I sat up, took one whiff and knew bad things were to come. An unnatural stench wafted from his nest as he gripped the bars for all he was worth. I picked him up, undressed him and took a peek in his diaper. Holy Mother Mary. There was soup in there, at least a quart, and it was gruesome. Poor little guy kept lifting up his rump in an effort to get his parts our of the burning stew. So I wiped him off, slathered him up with diaper goo and tucked him back to sleep. Again at 3:46 and 6:00 a.m. we repreated the rump routine as he became more distressed with each emission. Monday I called in sick to the ski mountain and stayed home in an effort to minimalize whatever it was that was brewing in Devon’s lower colonic region. I called my doctor just to be sure I didn’t need to take him in, but when his assistant related to him that Devon had been exposed to a positive flu patient (my father), he quickly prescribed Tamiflu to prevent any further damage. I am somewhat blasse about health things since Devon’s heart defect diagnosis. On the one hand I can take just about anything the medical community and my karmic muse have to dish our way. On the other hand, I move pretty fast on just about anything when it comes to him. This said, I picked up the prescription, made small chat with the pharmacist -who I have gotten to know really well this winter, and headed home for a good night’s sleep.

At 12:30 a.m. Cassidy woke me up telling me she had just vomited in her bed. I figured there was no use getting a sponge and bucket out at that time of night, so I took her in the bathroom, wiped her off, gave her a swallow of water and one of Matt’s shirts to sleep in and tucked her into our bed. As I laid my head on the pillow Matt told me that he too had barfed a few minutes before Cass did. “Hmmm,” I thought as I drifted into slumber. I awoke a few minutes later as Cassidy began shivering uncontrollably. She had to throw up again, so into the bathroom we trotted. She made it to the sink. And then we headed for the kitchen for a sip of Gatorade. This time she made it to the garbage can where she emptied yet more of her dinner, and just as she was through, I heard smoebody vomiting in the upstairs bathroom. “Ouch, your poor dad,” I sympathized.
“Uh, no. Duh, that’s Loren. Can’t you tell his cough?” Gotta love her even when she’s down, I told myself.

Sure enough. It was Loren. And so for the next four hours Matt, Loren and Cass proceeded to vomit in nearly every receptacle in the house. At one point I simply laid down towels along the side of the bed so that Cass would hit something absorbant as she heaved over the edge.

Today was a series of repetitive actions on my part. Issuing ginger ale and gatorade, wiping Devon’s ever-redding bottom, cleaning out sinks and emptying the garbage cans. I called the doctor again, made small chat with the pharmacist again and dispensed Tamiflu to everybody. Matt was brave enough to straggle into the office for a little over half of the day. My mother was angelic enough to take all of the barf laundry and bring it all back: clean, warm and sweet smelling. Cassidy and Loren were old enough to recognize that a mother running on two night’s of no sleep is as lousy as a super depressed mother. At one point Loren even asked me if I was still taking Prozac and if he could do anything to help make my day softer. Tonight Devon was good enough to go to bed at 7, Matt turned it in at 8 and Loren and Cassidy followed at 9.

I am currently without any symptoms. No flu here. Not yet. So maybe my karmic muse does care. Maybe she is sparing me. Whatever the case, I have had nearly two hours of silence tonight. That in and of itself is almost enough to heal nearly 48 hours of hell. Almost. But if pressed, I will feign exhaustion and hint that I need a day at the spa.

1 Comment so far
Leave a comment

There are no words. This is a vicious flu and I have read that others in the blogosphere are hit with it. I know that just makes everything feel better, doesn’t it?

Comment by jen




Leave a Reply

