Caloden


B.F.F.
January 24, 2006, 10:18 am
Filed under: Uncategorized

Over the past couple of years I have noticed a tapering off of my social life. I get invited out for drinks less and less, movie invitations are getting rarer and over the holidays -not a single party invite. Not a huge deal. With Loren and Cass getting older, playdates with The Other Moms no longer exist. Then I was pregnant and not much for socializing. Then I had a newborn. Then I had a newborn with a heart defect, a big surgical scar and strict instructions that he not interact with too many other kids. Then I was super blue and lethargic, not great company. Plus the treadmill frenzy of three kids keeps the small chat to a minimum, leaving few openings for personal networking. So all in all I can see the decline of my social ways. However, it was not until Comcast recently shutoff all my communications with the outer world that I realized the truth. I haven’t needed friends. I have my highspeed connection. When Devon naps I don’t pick up the phone to rekindle old friendships, I run to the PC and start posting about cancer. At night when the kids are in bed there is no cocktail hour with the neighbors, I am writing about my personal rants and looking for any juicy tidbits I might be able to incorporate into the cardio blogs. But what with the mysterious trainwreck munching the fiberoptic cable that has become my lifeline, I have realized that I have no friends. And I am lonely. Will this prompt me to pick up the phone and dig out long lost phone numbers? Likely not. I know Comcast will soon come back and all will be well.


1 Comment so far
Leave a comment

Hey, what am I? Chopped liver? I don’t have a ton of friends in real life– but I LOVE my friends in the computer!

Comment by jen-o-rama




Leave a comment