Caloden


Gifts
January 18, 2006, 2:11 pm
Filed under: Uncategorized

Today has been one of those days of hitting a toddler wall. While I was cleaning the counter Devon had unloaded the silverware from the diswasher. The ferret happened to be out and he managed to steal several plastic knives and forks and hide them under the couch. I had forgotten the dog food bowl on the floor so Devon was able to quietly extract every single kibble and plop it into the dog water. Devon has also come to enjoy a nice leisurely stroll about the house in the buff. Everyday around mid-morning he starts tugging at his diaper as he squawks, “Guck! Guck! Guck!” Translation “Stuck! Stuck! Stuck!” So then I must help him out of his offensive clothing so he can frolic au natural. This is all well and good. I am completely in support of the children feeling comfortable with their bodies, but it also means I have to be on Hyper-vigilant Alert status, a towel ready at all times for any drainage.

Everywhere I turn today there is todddler flotsam and jetsam. And that is always the time I start to curse all the places I can’t go: Hawaii, Nordstrom’s, the hair salon, to sleep. And I compile the list of places I can: my living room, McDonald’s, my loving room, the snowy park or…my living room. Not always alot of variety in toddlerhood.

But then when I was reading my daily meditations and today’s entry is about gratitude. And really, when push comes to shove, my life isn’t at all bad. It’s sticky and chaotic but there is so much good. So for the rest of the day I am focusing on the positives and relishing the now. Despite the fact that Devon has covered his hands and lips with green marker, I am focusing on gratitude. I am grateful it’s not a poisonous permanent marker and I am grateful he chose to color himself rather than the sofa.

1 Comment so far
Leave a comment

Hmmm… after the post I just put up, maybe I should go read the daily meditation on gratitude.

Comment by jen-o-rama




Leave a Reply

