Caloden


Yes, Loren….
December 6, 2005, 9:56 pm
Filed under: Uncategorized

About a year and a half ago, around Easter time, Loren took me aside and told me he needed to talk. This isn’t an unusual thing for him since he is one of the chattiest kids, with the exception of his sister, I have ever encountered. So he looked me in the eye and with great seriousness said, “Mom, I know what’s up.”

“Oh shit,” I thought. “What did I or didn’t I do now?” But instead I said, “What’s up little, man?”

“Well, I know all about the Easter Bunny and Santa Clause and the Tooth Fairy.”

Hoping to avoid this conversation for another year, I played dumb, “What do you mean, sweetie?”

“Mom, I know all about it. I know they are all you and Dad.”

I cringed, fearing I was in for a lashing for fibbing to him for nearly 11 years. But thinking I could still get away with it, I replied, “Why do you say that?”

“Well, duh. A flying sled? A bunny with eggs?”

And then the most unexpected thing happened. He hugged me so tightly I almost couldn’t bteathe. And he said, “Thank you, Mom! Thank you so much for all those years of presents. I don’t know how you and Dad did it, but thank you!”

And then I really couldn’t breathe.

Now when Loren asks what Santa will bring him he will sometimes quietly elbow me or whisper where Santa can locate the present he desires.

4 Comments so far
Leave a comment

That’s a sweet, sweet story.

Comment by Bug

I agree. A totally sweet story.

Comment by MIM

Two things: Congrats that he is such a sweet, loving, and considerate child. Really something to be proud of.

and you were able to be Santa for 11 years, my mom broke down at 9 and told us.

Comment by greensunflower

Holy shit, Caloden, look how many comments you got today!

This post just makes me want to cry. Loren is such a sweetie.

Christian announced the opposite yesterday. “You know why I believe in Santa Claus?” he asked.

“No, why,” says I, very amused.

“Because Santa always brings me presents you couldn’t afford.”

Ouch.

Comment by jen-o-rama




Leave a Reply

