Caloden


Suckers
November 28, 2005, 9:42 pm
Filed under: Uncategorized

Today I went to Loren’s school and helped out with the decorating for the upcoming winter event, the Winterfaire. When I went to help I did not realize that I had somehow been elected as The Offical Decorator for the whole shebang, but one of The Other Mothers was so sweet as to sign me up for that position. Thank you. Because I don’t already have enough to do, I am now roped into hauling Devon with me for a good part of the week as we go to ridiculous lengths to hang garland, lights and doo-da’s so that our children can go on Saturday and make felt angels for us to hang on our trees. At this point in our Waldorf schooling career I have enough felt angels to decorate two trees. Now I know that this is a fundraiser for the school and everything needs to look nice. In fact, I deeply understand because one year I was actually the Winter Faire Queen and in charge of the whole freaking affair. But this year the reigning Queen is out of hand. She has changed the menu and specified that the homemade items be made with ONLY organic ingrediants, each family has to make 10 items to donate for the children’s store (these items can be knitted or we can purchase kits to make them), she is strongly encouraging parents to dress up in Renessance garb so that the children can get a better feel for a Victorian Christmas. Ugh. Whatever. When she walks by, the Other Mothers roll their eyes and look knowingly at each other. I have heard the outrageous stories of their weekly meetings over the past months and have always snickered to myself because I was far too smart to get involved this year. But now here I am, The Official Decorator. Fuck.

I do have a few smarts, I made sure that there is a take down/clean up committee and that my name is not on it.

1 Comment so far
Leave a comment

Oh, dear lord. That sounds like hell.

Comment by jen-o-rama




Leave a Reply

