Caloden


When I Grow Up….
November 21, 2005, 1:11 pm
Filed under: Uncategorized

I have a friend who routinely jokes with me by asking, “So what is it that you are doing this week?” The implication being that since I resigned from my real job nearly three years ago, I have yet to buckle down and commit to anything lasting and meaningful -as far as my career is concerned. And it’s true. In the last three years I have posed as an executive secretary for a geriatric electromagnetic engineer, I have taught skiing to bratty, overprivileged children, I briefly answered phones for a controlling window dresser and have added the occasional helping hand to various friends as needed. But I think my most intriguing, and cushiest, job is my current gig of holiday decorator/go-and-get-it-girl to the rich and famous. A friend of mine is a caretaker to a fairly exclusive movie icon, and each year before and after the holidays I help her set up and then dismantle the fancy homes. I have never met her client, and would probably be a bumbling fool if I ever did, but I have had the honor of folding his linens, dusting his suites, hanging his children’s stockings and decorating his Christmas trees. But what I love most about this job is the art. This man has more art in his homes that most museums. I have gotten to touch Picasso’s sketches. The other day I dusted a Ming Dynasty horse statue. I have viewed myself in Napolean’s personal mirror, although I had to somewhat stoop to see myself. I have always been the type of person to secretly touch the museum paintings when nobody is looking, and so the opportunity to shamelessly fondle these objects d’art is beyond a dream for me. I’m not sure I would want to do this job all the time, but for the time being it’s a good set up and a chance to glimpse how the other 3% enjoy life.

1 Comment so far
Leave a comment

I know who it is!!! I know who it is!!!! Lucky lucky you!!!

Comment by jen-o-rama




Leave a Reply

