Caloden


Coffee Talk
November 10, 2005, 9:14 am
Filed under: Uncategorized

This morning Loren picked up my new bottle of pills and said, “Yo Heather, what are these? Are you sick?” (In his cool 12 year-oldness he has taken to calling me by my first name.)

My first thought was, “Crapper, should have put those away. ” Followed by, “You nosey little effer, it’s none of your business.” Ending with, “Geeze, he just cares, stop being such a morning bitch.”

So I poured myself a cup of coffee, sat down at the breakfast table and explained to both Cassidy and him my doctor’s visit yesterday. We touched on Postpartum Depression, Post Traumatic Stress Disorder, Generalized Panic Disorder (my specialty) and regular ole depression. We chatted about my brother who is Bi-Polar and had some good laughs over some of his more amusing manic moments (Yes, I know I’m going straight to hell for my insensitivity over his mental illness. But if he weren’t my brother I would be far more p.c. about it). Then both kids wanted to know if this medication thing is a common occurence, so I decided on honesty and told them a list of people we know who either are, or at one time were, medicated. To some they knowingly shook their heads, and then at the last name Loren paused and said, “But she doesn’t even have kids. Why does she need pills?”

To which Cassidy replied, “Duh Loren, you don’t need kids just to be nuts.”

And Loren countered, “No. But it helps.”

Out of the mouths of babes.

2 Comments so far
Leave a comment

That was PRICELESS!! Ahh, they speak the truth.

Comment by MIM

HA! Be sure to tell them about Auntie Jen. And Granny Pat! Oh, don’t forget about Granny Pat.

Comment by jen-o-rama




Leave a Reply

