Caloden


This is the Day
October 20, 2005, 8:19 pm
Filed under: Uncategorized

Today when I went to pick up Loren from school I encountered one of the other moms I actually like. Unlike some of the Range Rover moms, she is a real mom. She struggles in her relationship with her husband. She battles her defiant, Taurus born daughter. She strives to work from home, raise a toddler, put good food on the table, keep the electricity running, etc. Currently she is working in the Kinderhaus at school to help make ends meet. She is most definitely my kind of mom. We were chatting and catching up when I went to give her our usual hug, she pulled back and said, “Uh, I’m not so sure you want to do that.”

And I thought, “Oh lord, you won the lottery and you’re going immediately after school to buy a luxury SUV. And you are already avoiding our hug moments.”

But no. She peeked over shoulder for listeners and said, “Last week one of the kindergarteners gave me lice. We spent the entire weekend at my house bathing and ridding ourselves of them.”

“Shit.” I replied. What else can you say to a lice outbreak. I hugged her anyway and told her how straight and gorgeous her hair looked, and that she seemed super clean to me.

As we said our goodbyes, I had a moment where I realized just how good my current gig truly can be.

Leave a Comment so far
Leave a comment



Leave a Reply

