Caloden


The Sun’ll Come out Tomorrow
September 29, 2005, 7:39 pm
Filed under: Uncategorized

This job thing is killing me. Four days in a row this week and tomorrow will make it a round five. Last week I put in five days and next week they are expecting yet another five out of me. It’s not that I lack a work ethic, I just have more important things on my agenda. If I had some sort of an official position, say a nuclear physicist or a U.N. Leader, I might be more apt to show some committment to a job. But when I am work I find my mind wandering to the truly crucial parts of my life. For instance, Halloween is practically looming in my face right now, and that means a pumpkin design. This year I am envisioning something involving a series of large pumpkins sprayed painted black with glass beads embedded in the shells. However, and this is where the true stress comes in, do the beads come in only various shades of blue (my fear), or a variety of colors -which would result in a sort harlequined effect.

Another issue is laundry. Working every day has created a Laundry Situation in my house. The children have given up all hopes for clean socks and are beginning to settle on anything without clumps of mud. Loren has cleverly taken to tossing in an extra pack of boxers whenever we are at Wal Mart, so he is at least clean in that department. Cass is not a big fan of panties so she isn’t too deeply impacted here.

Yet another area is school lunches. Both of my older kids attend schools with no lunch programs. Both schools are filled with crunchy, natural fiber wearing, unemployed moms who pack lunches filled with things like whole grain sandwiches, kelp snack packs and organic juice boxes. This pressure forces me to take my Lunchable disguising efforts to new heights.

If I hadn’t already given my notice at work, I would call in sick tomorrow rather than face a fifth day. I would take Devon to the park where I would avoid the laundry issues and explain to him the wonders of pumpkin design.

2 Comments so far
Leave a comment

I don’t know how I missed this post, but I did somehow. I loved this post.

I want to hear more about the pumpkin design.

Can you spraypaint the beads?

Comment by jen-o-rama

I don’t know why my comments are not showing up.

When did you give notice at your job?

Comment by jen-o-rama




Leave a Reply

